walkin' on sunshine

whoa~! v(^u^)v

Why do I love black? Let me count the ways.

on 4 October 2013

I’m not a fan of trends. I don’t like to wear clothes that almost every one you see on the streets will wear. I think it comes with me, not wanting to conform with the norms, of me not wanting to blend in and lose my voice in the process. I feel as if I’m betraying myself, as if I’m trying to replicate Barbie and her plastic commercial smiles.

I’m not saying that trends are bad. There is a reason many would like to follow one. Or not. You might think that I think like an old woman but some trends just don’t make sense to me. Some of them would be Gangnam Style, Harlem Shaking, Owling, and Planking. If the next trend would be thinking, then it would save the earth a lot of trouble.

Photo-0015.1

Moving on, I do believe that one should dress for themselves, wear the clothes that make them feel perfect.  You don’t want to represent someone you’re not. If you feel confident about expressing yourself through your clothing, then you don’t have to worry about leaving false impressions on others. Besides, personality makes 60% of the outfit. You may be wearing the best outfit ever but if you don’t feel confident about it, your 40% advantage wouldn’t be that much.

Photo-0050

Everyday is a dress up day. I don’t wanna meet my prince charming/mortal enemy wearing something I’m not confident in. I feel comfortable when I wear black. It goes with my strange taste on music too, I guess. Or is it that I tend to find beauty in contrasts? I love bringing color to people’s lives that I prefer to represent myself as a shadow.

Aside from staying true to myself, one thing that I love to do with clothing is taking risks. Yes, style rules will take you a long way but defying these restrictions won’t mean that you will end up looking like a fool. Trust your instincts. Play. Have fun. It will make what you wear unique and waaay more interesting.

I’d like to leave you with one quote. I don’t remember its exact wording, even the one who said it but I believe that it’s still worth sharing.

“Fashion is expensive but style will take you everywhere.”

 

Always,
– Cristina

——

Anyways, here I am with my unorganized thoughts again. Please bear with me. I hardly had slept last night. My bed’s been calling me all day long. Two shots of latte made me at least stay functioning.

11 responses to “Why do I love black? Let me count the ways.

  1. […] Why do I love black? Let me count the ways. | walkin’ on sunshine […]

  2. Teepee12 says:

    Black goes with everything. It hides what you want hidden, shows what you want to show. It never goes out of style. Dress it up, dress it down … I’m with you.

    • princessyoko says:

      excuse me for my late reply. 🙂 That’s soo true! And wearing black can also be a statement. I’m quite a girly person and so I’m always wearing skirts. Black gives everyone a nice silhouette. And you can pair them with every single article in your closet.

  3. […] Why do I love black? Let me count the ways. | walkin’ on sunshine […]

  4. […] Why do I love black? Let me count the ways. | walkin’ on sunshine […]

  5. […] Why do I love black? Let me count the ways. | walkin’ on sunshine […]

  6. […] Why do I love black? Let me count the ways. | walkin’ on sunshine […]

  7. […] Why do I love black? Let me count the ways. | walkin’ on sunshine […]

  8. […] Why do I love black? Let me count the ways. | walkin‘ on sunshine […]

  9. […] Make the Man 29. Rob’s Surf Report Why do I look so good? 30. Haiku By Ku Fur Coat… 31. walkin’ on sunshine Why do I love black? Let me count the ways. 32. Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss The Clothes (May) Make the (Wo)man 33. Day of the Week Fat Pants […]

  10. tamtam012013 says:

    Black all the way ♥ also, loving the polka dots 🙂

what do you think?

