walkin' on sunshine

whoa~! v(^u^)v

チーズ!I am Immortal – Habagat 2.0

on 26 August 2013

Smiiiiiiiiiiiiiile!  v(^_______^)v

Why?

People who know me personally say that I smile ALL THE TIME these past few days. It’s because I choose to look for the brighter side of life. There’s always something colorful even while you’re under the rain. You just have to make a conscious effort to look for it. You should make it a habit too!

There's always something colorful even while you're under the rain. You just have to make a conscious effort to look for it. :)

This picture was taken when strong Habagat (Southwest Monsoon Rains) hit the Philippines last week. This smiling guy with the colorful umbrella walking in the middle of a national highway brightened up my mood!

BUT WAIT, THERE’S MORE: Smiles are contagious. It’s like an epidemic disease. You have the power to pass it to someone who then will pass it to someone else and that “someone else” will pass it to another person. Your smile then, can make a huge difference!

I am greatly hesitant to write about my experience with the Habagat last week. My struggle is nothing compared to people drenched up to their roofs. I don’t want to seem like bragging about my luck but I believe that some of my thoughts are worth sharing.

Let’s get this started!

Global warming is a serious issue. Mother Nature is mirroring our decades of cruelty back. I recommend that we should always…

  1. keep in mind what things we can do to help save our planet;
  2. make it part of our lifestyle;
  3. research, talk, write, sing, or even dance about the worldwide problem.

Year after year, there are out of the ordinary calamities striking different parts of the globe. One of these is the annual flooding of Metro Manila, Philippines.

I agree that we should all work hand in hand and make our city drainage systems clog-free. I know this sounds like what an elementary teacher would say but always make it a point to throw your trash in the right segregated trash bins. Whatever garbage we throw to inappropriate places will always find its way back to us. My village had been flood-free ever since this simple rule had been strictly implemented.

We should also prioritize reusable materials over non-biodegradable stuff we could use only once. Recycling is one thing but refusing to use articles like plastic bags is better. Less trash = less harm.

Growing greens will also help. A tree can provide enough oxygen for two people. It can also prevent landslides and flooding.  They can also serve as shade on a blinding summer day aside from the food they can give. Plants also look good and they make our surroundings come alive and fresh.

I can suggest all obvious solutions and write a boring blog all day but the damage had been done. We should just have to move forward and learn from it from now on.

On the flip side, what really struck me that unfortunate time was the willingness of people to help others. Major highways were heavily flooded and people with large trucks volunteered to help people get home for free. I rode one from Ever Gotesco Mall to Junction Cainta.

Photo-0048

View from the truck.

View from the truck.

I really salute people who gave their full efforts to help others without asking for anything in return. I am fully aware that I am selfish at times , especially when my resources are running low. These guys must probably be affected by the storm as well but they chose to lend a helping hand.

Photo-0052

waterproof folks

Photo-0050

people from different walks of life had united at this instant

Photo-0051

Yet another truck full of volunteers.

These men must be given their well-deserved honor. They didn’t care about the almost nonstop showers. It is at this moment when I genuinely understood at least part of the Tagalog word bayanihan. I just felt so proud and happy to live in a country where there is no “I” in catastrophe. We would rather laugh together on an unfortunate event than worry about ourselves.

well-deserved treat on a rainy day

well-deserved treat on a rainy day

I would like to end this post by asking you to smile. You are blessed even when you barely have something. There are folks who can still laugh when they have nothing.

Always,
– Cristina

PS

Excuse my writing style for now. I tend to jump from one idea to another without the proper transitions. My words are also redundant. It’s been a loooong time since I last wrote for my blog. I must get used to it again, I think. 🙂

Disclaimer: You might be fooled by my pictures.

  1. This is the flood-free elevated part of the highway where I stayed.
  2. I took the pictures with my phone when the shower stopped for five minutes. It’s impossible to do so while it’s dark and raining.
what do you think?

